Result of the First Ballot for Speaker of the House of Commons


Sir Edward Leigh & Meg Hillier have been eliminated from the race to become Commons speaker, having received the least number of votes.

There were no spoilt ballots.

562 MPs voted.

Sir Lindsay Hoyle: 211

Dame Eleanor Laing: 113

Chris Bryant: 98

Harriet Harman: 72

Dame Rosie Winterton: 46

Sir Edward Leigh: 12

Meg Hillier: 10

This is a "Pay as You Feel" website Please help keep us Ad Free.

You can have access to all of our online work for free. However if you want to support what we do, you could make a small donation to help us keep writing. The choice is entirely yours.